AA logo

How we quality assess accommodation


Our Ratings

Recognising accommodation since 1908, we first introduced the star rating scheme in 1912. This enables us to inspect and reward establishments for the quality and range of their services and facilities.

Our new approach to modernise and simplify our assessment structure ensures that our quality assurance remains best in class; a reassurance to consumers that they can choose a trusted National Tourist Board or AA-rated establishment with confidence.

Our schemes are all about quality in context and driven by businesses’ core market needs. Assessment is based on what businesses offer to their guests, not what they don’t. Establishment presentation and quality of the guest experience is of equal importance and relevance.

Quality Assessed

This level of accreditation will promote businesses where they have been fully inspected and assessed against the quality standards but prefer to be marketed without a star rating.

Having undergone a full assessment each year they would be eligible for, and may achieve, various awards such as the AA Rosette awards or the VisitEngland ROSE Awards.

Quality Star Rated

Reflecting the market place and consumer demand, we have recalibrated the star ratings to 3 to 5 Stars. Star ratings, while already well established, will also replace the AA pennant ratings for camping.  

3 Star requirements will become the new minimum requirements for each scheme. The standards themselves have been fully updated to reflect the market place, the ever increasing diversity of product in the industry and a greater flexibility in service provision that acknowledges the growing use of technology and other innovations in the guest experience.

Select your accommodation type to find out more